12 Lilly Community Scholars Named In Nine Southwestern Indiana Counties

(Evansville, Indiana)  The Community Foundation Alliance has announced recipients of the 2020 Lilly Endowment Community Scholarships in each of their nine county affiliates. The scholarships provide full-tuition, required fees, and an annual stipend of up to $900 for required books and equipment for four years of full-time undergraduate study at an accredited Indiana college or university, leading to a baccalaureate degree.

The Community Foundation Alliance is comprised of affiliate Community Foundations serving 9 southwestern Indiana counties. Each year, the affiliates collaborate with high schools throughout southwestern Indiana to nominate students for the Lilly Endowment Community Scholar award.

The recipients in the nine counties are:

  • Peyton Eaton, Barr-Reeve High School, Daviess County
  • Mary Hall, Gibson Southern High School, Gibson County
  • Mykayla Couchenour, South Knox High School, Knox County
  • Mallory Lynch, Perry Central High School, Perry County
  • Madison Warner, Pike Central High School, Pike County
  • Kenzie Paul, Mount Vernon High School, Posey County
  • Ethan Roos, Heritage Hills High School, Spencer County
  • Rajeev Chilukuri, Castle High School; and Krish Gupta, Castle High School, Warrick County
  • Elizabeth Broshears, Reitz Memorial High School; Ankush Dhawan, Signature School; and Saisantosh Ponna, Signature School, Vanderburgh County

The Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Program is a statewide program administered by local community foundations throughout Indiana. The Community Foundation administers the program locally in conjunction with the Community Foundation Alliance (our governing body) and local high schools, and Independent Colleges of Indiana (ICI) provides statewide oversight of the program.

The Lilly Endowment is an Indianapolis-based, private philanthropic foundation, created in 1937 by members of the Lilly Family. In keeping with the wishes of the founding members, the Lilly Endowment exists to support the causes of education, religion and community development.

Since the program was first introduced in 1998, Lilly Endowment has remained steadfast in its belief that education education at all levels is indispensable to the personal, civic and economic well-being of Indiana residents and communities.

The scholarships are the result of a statewide Lilly Endowment initiative to help raise the level of educational attainment in Indiana; increase awareness of the beneficial roles Indiana community foundations can play in their communities; and encourage and support the efforts of current and past Lilly Endowment Community Scholars to engage with each other and with Indiana business, governmental, educational, nonprofit and civic leaders to improve the quality of life in Indiana generally and in local communities throughout the state.