2017 Lilly Endowment Community Scholar Announced

December 14, 2016 Washington, Indiana – One Daviess County student has been named the recipient of a four-year, full-tuition scholarship as the Daviess County 2017 Lilly Endowment Community Scholar. Mary O. Barnard will receive a full tuition scholarship to the Indiana college of her choice and a $900 yearly stipend for required books and equipment.

Mary, the daughter of Anthony and Angela Barnard of Washington, is a senior at Washington High School.

Mary is the daughter of Anthony and Angela Barnard of Washington and is a senior at Washington High School. While she has excelled academically, she has also been active in a variety of school and community activities, including DECA, where she serves as state president; Academic Bowl; CEO program; WHS soccer, where she serves as team captain; United Way, where she serves in the WISH program; the Mount Olivet Church, where she serves as a teacher in vacation bible school; and the Journey to Bethlehem. Following graduation, Mary plans to attend an Indiana college to study business with a goal of giving back to the community in the field of marketing.

Daviess County students applied for the scholarship through the Daviess County Community Foundation and the 2017 application process began in August. Twenty-seven applications were reviewed by a volunteer scholarship committee made up of community leaders. The applications were scored based on a variety of factors including academic performance, community service and volunteer and work activities, a written essay outlining future goals, work experiences, school activities, and effectiveness in assigned leadership roles. Based on results from the initial review, ten applicants were selected for a final panel interview to further assess their verbal communication skills and civic pride and interest.

After the Daviess County Community Foundation scholarship committee completed their evaluation, names were submitted to Independent Colleges of Indiana, Inc. (ICI) for the final selection of the recipient.

Independent Colleges of Indiana is the collective voice for excellence and choice in higher education for all students. As a non-profit association, ICI represents Indiana’s 31 private, non-profit, regionally-accredited colleges and universities. The scholarships are the result of a statewide Lilly Endowment initiative to help Hoosier students reach higher levels of education. Indiana ranks among the lowest states in the percentage of residents over the age of 25 with a bachelor’s degree. There were 142 scholarships awarded statewide.

Established in 1993, the Daviess County Community Foundation is a charitable resource devoted to the local community.  Each year, the Foundation collaborates with all four Daviess County high schools and Independent Colleges of Indiana to nominate a student for the Lilly Endowment Community Scholar award.

A partner of the Community Foundation Alliance with oversight by a local 16-member Advisory Board, the Foundation is made up of a collection of 153 permanent funds, established by caring people who give back to causes and organizations in the community. Gifts to the Foundation leave a permanent legacy through the power of endowment, where earnings are used to make grants and scholarships that benefit the community forever.

The Daviess County Community Foundation helps people make a difference where it matters, invest in the future of the community they love, and create greater good together. The Foundation’s office is located at 320 East Main Street in Washington. To learn more, call 812-254-9354