2019 Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Recipients Announced

Warrick County, Indiana  The Warrick County Community Foundation announced Hannah Beaven, Newburgh, and Hannah Gourley, Boonville, are the recipients of the 2019 Lilly Endowment Community Scholarships for Warrick County. The Lilly Endowment Scholarships provide full-tuition, required fees, and an annual stipend of up to $900 for required books and equipment for four years of full-time undergraduate study at an Indiana college or university.

Hannah Beaven is the daughter of Michael and Leann Beaven. She is a senior at Castle High School and plans to study biotechnology. In addition to excelling academically, she has been involved in Teen Power, Math Club, and the National Honor Society. She is also a member of the Castle High School Marching Band, Concert Band, and Jazz Band as well as participating in swimming and track. Hanna has earned numerous recognitions for scholastic achievement, including being named as a National Merit Semi-finalist and as an Evansville Courier & Press Gold Star Student.

Hannah Gourley is the daughter of Kevin and Cathy Gourley. She is a senior at Boonville High School and plans to pursue a degree in health sciences or biochemistry. In addition to excelling academically, she has been involved in HOSA: Future Health Professionals, National Honor Society, Teen Power, Student Council, and the Larry Buschon Leadership Summit. She has also participated in track and cheerleading.  Hannah has been recognized as an UCA All-American Cheerleader and received the Boonville High School Varsity Cheer Sportsmanship and Coaches Awards. She was also named a National Merit Scholarship qualifier and an Evansville Courier & Press Gold Star Student.

The Warrick County Community Foundation received 41 applications for the Lilly Endowment Scholarship.  The recipients were nominated to receive the scholarship from a pool of 12 finalists interviewed by the scholarship committee.

The Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Program is a statewide program administered by local community foundations throughout Indiana. The Warrick County Community Foundation administers the program locally in conjunction with the Community Foundation Alliance and support from the local high schools. The Independent Colleges of Indiana (ICI) provides statewide oversight of the program.

The Lilly Endowment is an Indianapolis-based, private philanthropic foundation, created in 1937 by members of the Lilly Family. In keeping with the wishes of the founding members, the Lilly Endowment exists to support the causes of education, religion and community development.

Since the program was first introduced in 1998, Lilly Endowment has remained steadfast in its belief education at all levels is indispensable to the personal, civic and economic well-being of Indiana residents and communities.

The scholarships are the result of a statewide Lilly Endowment initiative to help raise the level of educational attainment in Indiana; increase awareness of the beneficial roles Indiana community foundations can play in their communities; and encourage and support the efforts of current and past Lilly Endowment Community Scholars to engage with each other and with Indiana business, governmental, educational, nonprofit and civic leaders to improve the quality of life in Indiana generally and in local communities throughout the state.

For further information or assistance:
Sidney Hardgrave, Regional Director of Community Engagement and Impact

(812) 422-1245, Extension 102 or (812) 573-1454 (mobile) or shardgrave@communityfoundationalliance.org