$80,000 in Community Good Grants Awarded by Foundation

Evansville, Indiana—The Vanderburgh Community Foundation has announced recipients of $80,000 in Community Good grants. The grants provide support for a variety of organizations in their work to address community needs and strengthen Vanderburgh County.

Grants are awarded based on the Foundation’s funding priorities of arts and culture, community development, education, health, human services, and other civic endeavors, such as the environment, recreation, and youth development.

Community Good Grants are supported by individuals and organizations establishing and contributing to endowment funds held by the Foundation. The Foundation funds that made these grant awards possible are the Charles and Frances Crawford and Beth Ann Mosier Fund; the Rebecca J. Dorr Endowment Fund; the Saleta Evans Memorial Fund; the Friends of Vanderburgh County Fund; the German American Bancorp Community Fund; the Health and Human Services in Vanderburgh County Fund; the Heritage Federal Community Good Fund of Vanderburgh County; and the Jeff and Tricia Hollander Henning Family Community Good Endowment.

2019 Community Good Grant recipients are:

(Unless otherwise noted, all additional persons pictured are representatives of the Vanderburgh Community Foundation.)

The Ark, Inc. – $10,000 to support crisis care services for children with a high risk for abuse or neglect

L to R: Sidney Hardgrave, Doug Minor, Joyce Molinet (Ark Crisis Nursery Board), Angie Richards Cheek (Ark), MaNissa Coon (Ark Board), Sean Ferguson, Kim Schultz, Toni Thompson, and children participating in the program (with permission).

Aurora – $10,000 for the An Ounce of Diversion program

Aurora staff, L to R: Rose Duran, Bri Martin, Elizabeth Seaton, Stephanie Kaho, Tim Martin, Timothy Weir, Matt Hanka (Commission on Homelessness), and Susan Steinkamp. VCF grant committee members, L to R: Kim Schultz, Sean Ferguson, Kim Schultz, Toni Thompson and Doug Minor, joined by Regional Development Director, Sarah Wagner.

Dream Center Evansville – $10,000 to support the Jacobsville Kids Zone (JKS) program

L to R: Doug Minor, Rachel Trout (Dream Center) Jeremy Evans (Dream Center), Toni Thompson, Kim Schultz, Sarah Wagner.

Evansville Christian Life Center – $10,000 for expansion of the GAIN program

L to R: Kim Schultz, Sean Ferguson, Gina Gibson, Josey Roth, Toni Thompson, Doug Minor, JoAnn Weber-Drennen

Holly’s House, Inc. – $7,500 for the “Think First & Stay Safe” child abuse prevention program offered in Vanderburgh County schools

L to R: Doug Minor, Kim Schultz, Holly Edmond (Holly’s House), Sean Ferguson, Mark Hackert, Sarah Wagner.

Parenting Time Center – $10,000 to support services related to Improving the Well-Being of Children Through Promoting Responsible Fatherhood

L to R: Sarah Wagner, Doug Minor, Kim Schultz, Toni Thompson, Kathryn Kornblum-Zelle (Parenting Time Center), John Boggeman (Evansville Christian Life Center), Sidney Hardgrave.

Vanderburgh County CASA, Inc. – $7,500 to support Court Appointed Special Advocates volunteer recruitment and training

In the lobby of CASA’s new facility, L to R: Kim Schultz, Casey Blake (CASA), Sean Ferguson, JoAnn Weber-Drennen, Doug Minor.

Youth First – $5,000 to support Youth First Social Workers and programs in Vanderburgh County Schools

L to R: Shelby Southard, Jana Pritchett, Julie Hoon, Judith Kunst, Sean Ferguson, Doug Minor, Toni Thompson

YWCA of Evansville – $10,000 for the A Home for Healing program.

L to R: Front: Toni Thompson, Janet Keller (YWCA), Dee Lewis (YWCA), Kim Schultz, Sarah Wagner, Back: Sidney Hardgrave, Sean Ferguson, Mark Hackert, Doug Minor.

For more information, contact Sidney Hardgrave, Regional Director of Community Engagement and Impact, at shardgrave@communityfoundationalliance.org. or Sarah Wagner, Regional Director of Development at swagner@communityfoundationalliance.org, or call 812.422.1245.