Community Foundation Announces Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Recipient

December 7, 2017 – Washington, Indiana One Daviess County student has been named the recipient of a four-year, full-tuition scholarship as the Daviess County 2018 Lilly Endowment Community Scholar. Ashtin Wilson will receive a full tuition scholarship to the Indiana college of her choice and a $900 yearly stipend for required books and equipment.

Ashtin is the daughter of Dustin and Sandy Wilson of Odon and is a senior at North Daviess High School. She has excelled academically and participated in numerous school and community activities including student council, where she serves as President; North Daviess volleyball, where she serves as team captain; North Daviess track and field, Hoosier Girls State; Fields of Faith, where she serves as Chairman; and BETA Club . Following graduation, Ashtin plans to attend IUPUI to study Biomedical Engineering.

Daviess County students applied for the scholarship through the Daviess County Community Foundation and the 2018 application process began in August. Sixteen applications were reviewed by a volunteer scholarship committee made up of community leaders. The applications were scored based on a variety of factors including academic performance, community service and volunteer and work activities, a written essay outlining future goals, work experiences, school activities, and effectiveness in assigned leadership roles. Based on results from the initial review, seven applicants were selected to participate in an impromptu essay as well as a final panel interview to further assess their verbal communication skills and civic pride and interest.

After the Daviess County Community Foundation scholarship committee completed their evaluation, names were submitted to Independent Colleges of Indiana, Inc. (ICI) for the final selection of the recipient. There were 143 scholarships awarded statewide.

Independent Colleges of Indiana (ICI) represents Indiana’s 30 private, non-profit, regionally-accredited colleges and universities. The scholarships are the result of a statewide Lilly Endowment initiative to help raise the level of educational attainment in Indiana; increase awareness of the beneficial roles Indiana community foundations can play in their communities; and encourage and support the efforts of current and past Lilly Endowment Community Scholars to engage with each other and with Indiana business, governmental, educational, nonprofit and civic leaders to improve the quality of life in Indiana generally and in local communities throughout the state.

Established in 1993, the Daviess County Community Foundation is a charitable resource devoted to the local community. Each year, the Foundation collaborates with all four Daviess County high schools to nominate a student for the Lilly Endowment Community Scholar award.