Daviess County Community Foundation Awards $100,000 To 14 Charitable Partners

(Washington, Indiana) The Daviess County Community Foundation is distributing $101,085 in grants to 14 local organizations through their 2020 Community Good grants program.

This year’s grants provide flexible funding for a variety of charitable projects and organizations serving Daviess County. Due to COVID-19 pandemic challenges facing organizations, the grants include support for specific projects and programs as well as general operating costs.

Grants awarded are:

  • $3,600 to Daviess County Family YMCA for the Locker Room Improvement Project;
  • $10,000 to PowerHouse for operational support;
  • $10,000 to The Isaiah 1:17 Project for the Bags of Hope Program;
  • $6,500 to Washington Police Department for the purchase of radar signs;
  • $10,000 to Senior and Family Services, Inc. for operational support of the Washington and Odon Senior Centers;
  • $10,000 to Youth First for the Youth First School-Based Social Work Prevention Program;
  • $10,000 to Habitat for Humanity of Daviess County, Inc. for Home Build 2021;
  • $10,000 to The Odon Lions Club Foundation, Inc. for the Lake-Levy Spillway Project;
  • $2,360 to Pace Community Action Agency for the SuperMENtors Program;
  • $10,000 to Cannelburg Fire Department for new gear and radios;
  • $5,625 to Barr-Reeve Community School Corporation for the purchase of Readable English Licenses as part of the Literacy for All Program;
  • $6,000 to Four Rivers Resource Services for virtual teaching, learning and communication preparedness;
  • $6,000 to Lighthouse Recovery Center for laundry facility appliance replacement; and
  • $1,000 to Friends for Animals for the Spay/Neuter Program.

Funding for the program is provided by donors and organizations establishing and donating to 27 Community Good (unrestricted) and 3 field-of-interest funds held by the Foundation. Those funds include:

  • Black Beauty Daviess County Community Fund;
  • Boyd Grain Farms/Tom and Marsha Boyd Fund;
  • Callahan Family Fund;
  • Senator Homer and Irma Capehart Fund;
  • Charlie “Chuck” Vaught Fund;
  • Cherry Tree Plaza Community Fund;
  • Daviess County Memorial Fund;
  • Dudenhoeffer Family Fund;
  • Joan Daily Elliott Fund;
  • Edward Jones Achievement Fund;
  • First Federal Savings Bank of Washington Fund;
  • Friends of Daviess County Fund;
  • Former Washington Moose Lodge 1080 Endowment Fund;
  • German American Bancorp Community Fund;
  • Jim and Kathy Havill Family Fund;
  • Home Building Savings Bank FSB Unrestricted Fund;
  • Jones and Sons Concrete Fund;
  • Memering Family Fund;
  • Midwest Natural Gas Corporation Unrestricted Fund;
  • Jay E. Myers Unrestricted Fund;
  • Dr. Horace and Mary Norton Family Fund;
  • Old National Fund for Daviess County;
  • Perdue Farms Inc. Unrestricted Fund;
  • Singleton Family Fund;
  • Swartzentruber Family Fund;
  • Joe and Gladys Traylor Family Fund;
  • Jane Scudder Turnley Fund;
  • Daviess County Community Foundation Youth Council Endowed Fund;
  • Doris I. Potts Fund; and  
  • Smithville Charitable Foundation Youth of Daviess County Fund