Daviess County Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Recipient Named

Washington, Indiana. One Daviess County student has been named the recipient of a four-year, full-tuition scholarship as the Daviess County Community Foundation 2016 Lilly Endowment Community Scholar. Gracen Jarrett will receive a full tuition scholarship to the Indiana College of her choice and a $900 yearly stipend for required books and equipment.

Gracen is the daughter of Jeffery and Christine Jarrett of Washington and is a senior at Washington Catholic High School. While she has excelled academically, she has also been active in a variety of school and community activities, including the Washington Soccer Equipment Drop and Swap, 4-H, DECA, Hoosier Girls State, Beta Club, CEO program, soccer, and Our Lady of Hope Church. Following graduation, Gracen plans to study agricultural economics with a goal of giving back to the community as an agricultural sales agent and entrepreneur.

Daviess County students applied for the scholarship through the Daviess County Community Foundation and the 2016 application process began in January. Sixteen applications were reviewed by a volunteer scholarship committee made up of community leaders. The applications were scored based on a variety of factors including academic performance, community service and volunteer and work activities, a written essay outlining future goals, work experiences, school activities, and effectiveness in assigned leadership roles. Based on results from the initial review, seven applicants were selected for a final panel interview to further assess their verbal communication skills and civic pride and interest.

After the Daviess County Community Foundation scholarship committee completed their evaluation, names were submitted to Independent Colleges of Indiana, Inc. (ICI) for the final selection of the recipient.

ICI is a nonprofit corporation that represents 31 regionally accredited degree granting, nonprofit, private colleges and universities in the state. The scholarships are the result of a statewide Lilly Endowment initiative to help Hoosier students reach higher levels of education. Indiana ranks among the lowest states in the percentage of residents over the age of 25 with a bachelor’s degree. There were 142 scholarships awarded statewide.

Established in 1993, the Daviess County Community Foundation is a charitable resource devoted to the local community. A partner of the Community Foundation Alliance with oversight by a local 17-member advisory board, the Foundation is made up of a collection of 140 permanent funds, established by caring people and organizations that give back to causes and organizations in the community. Gifts to the Foundation leave a permanent legacy through the power of endowment, where earnings are used to make grants and scholarships that benefit the community forever. Daviess County Community Foundation helps people make a difference where it matters, invest in the future of the community they love, and create greater good together. The Foundation’s office is located at 320 East Main Street in Washington. To learn more, call 812-254-9354 or visit www.Community Foundation Alliance.org/Daviess.